Hamburg Rathaus

The next leg of my spring break trip consisted of 2 days spent in Hamburg. I toured the city by myself during the day and spent the nights at my aunt’s house. She gave me suggestions on what to see and, unsurprisingly, the City Hall was first on her list.

MRN_0920

It is so huge that it was nearly impossible to get the whole building in one shot.

This was one of my favorite buildings in the city. I learned from a walking tour that it was built after the original city hall was destroyed during the Great Fire of Hamburg in 1842, and one of the only major buildings left standing after the city was heavily bombed in WWII. The Hygieia (goddess of health and hygiene) statue was chosen for construction in remembrance of the cholera epidemic of 1892.

It is the one building that still displays the historic European architecture that I have grown so fond of.

MRN_0946

Courtyard view

Leave a Reply

