Josefov

A few side streets away from the Old Town Square I stumbled upon an open air market selling hand crafted souvenirs. At the end of the street was another church.

FullSizeRender 97

FullSizeRender 102

FullSizeRender 18

During our tour, we were lead through the Jewish Quarter, the area that was once the Jewish ghetto. It is home to Europe’s oldest active synagogue!

The features of this Spanish synagogue almost resemble those of a mosque. Unfortunately this time I didn’t have time to go in, but one day when I return I am curious to peek inside!

FullSizeRender 40

This Old Jewish cemetery is the largest in Europe. Our tour guide explained to us that it is composed of alternating layers of dirt and bodies because over a period of 300+ years they ran out of ground space to bury their dead, so instead they had to bury upwards.

FullSizeRender 91

FullSizeRender 71

Prague Jewish Museum located next to the cemetery

We also learned that this area around Old Town is the most expensive area to live in Prague. This was made evident by the expensive name brand stores lining the streets. The building shown below on the right was one of the prettiest ones I saw.

After the tour, our guide recommended we cross the river a couple bridges away from the famous Charles Bridge and take a walk through the vast park on the other side.

Like Vienna, Prague also uses red trams as a means of transportation. I think I still like Vienna’s trams better (although I may be a little biased 😉).

FullSizeRender 66

Later that evening I went to dinner, took a walk, and enjoyed a beer along the river. There were a few men at the bar who gave me a strange look, probably wondering why I was alone drinking a beer at a random pub in Prague.

Leave a Reply

